Country Soul Brother CD


Hang on! After the title track storms out of the chute like a bucking bronco, Jesse Dayton takes listeners on a wild ride across roadhouse country. He swaggers his way through “Tall Walkin’ Texas Trash” as if channeling the cocksure spirit of Waylon Jennings (with whom Dayton recorded as a guitarist) and conjures the border cantina atmospherics of Doug Sahm on the accordion-laced “All Because of You” and “Moravia.”

One doesn’t necessarily think of country and soul as two complementary styles, but anyone with a long memory will know that country – at its outset – worked hand in hand with the blues. So Jesse Dayton’s idea of combining Southern fiddles and B-3 organ on a dozen songs isn’t all that radical after all. He kicks off the album with the title track, a rollicking fun song about life on the road.

Track Listing:
1.  Country Soul Brother
2.  All Because of You
3.  Ain’t Grace Amazing
4.  Just What I Needed
5.  Daily Ritual
6.  Jesus Pick Me Up
7.  It Won’t Always Be Like This
8.  Tall Walkin’ Texas Trash
9.  Just to Get You Off My Mind
10. Moravia
11. One of Them Days
12. Talkin’ Bobby Dale’s Hard Luck Blues
Label: Stag Records (STAG-006)
Released: 2004
Format: CD
“Like its predecessors, this album’s heart is bellied up to the bar at an Austin honky-tonk. That said, if your definition of soul includes a sentence about an artist singing and playing his or her guts out to put songs across, then Country Soul Brother is most definitely a soul record.”
—-No Depression

“Raw. Real. Emotional.

Fans of country and soul music will likely find similar words to describe the songs that they connect with in some manner.

For Jesse Dayton, whose new “Country Soul Brother” passionately combines the two genres, country and soul are a natural fit.”

——Country Standard Time

“The arrangements, while delivering something one might call “country-soul,” vary enough from song to song to keep the album from becoming predictable. There’s accordion on “All Because of You,” acoustic fingerpicking on “Jesus Pick Me Up,” and harmonica on “Ain’t Grace Amazing.” Dayton also shows how easy it is to turn a rock song like The Cars‘ “Just What I Needed” into a bluesy bit of country. With the exception of “Just What I Needed,” Dayton has written all of the material, and to top everything else off, he’s a solid, versatile singer. For anyone interested in a soulful country album that never seems alternative, but likewise wouldn’t be confused with contemporary Nashville, Country Soul Brother will fit the bill.”